New season

Berliner Philharmoniker Konzertmeister I

Three of Mozart's most beautiful quintets by the Konzertmeister of the Berlin Philharmonic.

Guy Braunstein, Amihai Grosz
Guy Braunstein © Boaz Arad, Amihai Grosz © Edith Held
Christoph Streuli, Ulrich Knörzer, Wenzel Fuchs
Christoph Streuli, Ulrich Knörzer, Wenzel Fuchs - DR
Edgar Moreau
Edgar Moreau © Julien Mignot


Guy Braunstein | violin
Christoph Streuli | violin
Ulrich Knörzer | viola
Amihai Grosz | viola
Edgar Moreau | cello
Wenzel Fuchs | clarinet


Berliner Philharmoniker Konzertmeister I
Mozart String Quintet No. 3 K. 515, String Quintet No. 4 K. 516 Quintet with clarinet K. 581 

To read

Boccherini and Michael Haydn had paved the way for five-part chamber music, and Mozart gave it its letters of nobility, whose String Quintets K 515 and 516 represent the apogee of the genre in his repertoire. Due to their size and architecture, they are two incredibly demanding pieces whose brilliance and solar joy radiantly reflect a spirituality clearly assumed by the composer. The Clarinet Quintet K 581, another masterpiece, is the story of a friendship that links Wolfgang from his arrival in Vienna in 1781 with Anton Stadler, one of the greatest virtuosos of his time, and a member of the Imperial Court Chapel. Together, they played in the Masonic circles of the Austrian capital, and the composer wrote for him his concerto, the Kegelstatt Trio, the famous solos of The Clemency of Titus and this quintet composed two years before his death. His interpretation is particularly delicate because everything is a question of balance, a concept that the Berliner Konzertmeisters have long mastered.

COREALISATION Piano**** / Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

You may also like

Mozart, Berg, Brahms

The keyboard doyenne for an evening with Mozart and Brahms peppered with Viennese modernity.

Mozart, Schumann

Second evening with the Konzertmeister of the Berlin Philharmonic with Mozart and Schumann.